cholesterol laden southern food II

06Nov09

Ok, so everyone is sick in my family. My mother and niece are both taking Tamiflu and no one can leave to do anything productive … like shopping and dining in places that serve real food. I’m a quarantined pregnant woman and I’m beginning to feel more isolated and depressed than I was back at home. All whining and negativity aside, mercury or not, it might be best if I reconsider my decision to pass on the vaccine.

Continuing with the theme of food I didn’t know was considered southern food, I thought I’d make these for g when I return from my trip. Pimento cheese, AKA southern pate.

From one of my mother’s Country Living mags …

apimsand

Pimento – Cheese Sandwiches

In a medium bowl stir together the following:
1/2 pound grated, sharp yellow cheddar cheese
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons horseradish
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
5 tablespoons mayonnaise

Blend half the mixture in a food processor until smooth. Transfer back to bowl, add 3 tablespoons chopped marinated roasted red pepper, and stir to combine. Trim crusts from 16 slices firm white bread. Spread pimento cheese among 8 slices. Top with remaining bread. Cute sandwiches into quarters, slicing on the diagonal.

No Responses Yet to “cholesterol laden southern food II”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

