tortilla soup

22Oct09

First of all, because I must bitch, I have to shop at 5 grocery stores to get the ingredients I like, and a couple of these freaking stores are an hour plus drive. Not only does eating out here completely suck, but try finding great healthy ingredients to cook. And forget gourmet … blah blah … It’s all just hopeless.

I put all this in a crock-pot:

boneless skinless chicken breasts and thighs (or sometimes, instead, I throw a whole chicken in there)
organic chicken stock
1-3 whole fresh jalapenos which I remove after and slice for g because I’m not a fan of a lot of heat

Homemade Salsa
3 or more great looking tomatoes
lots of fresh chopped cilantro
hot and/or mild fresh green chillies
fresh squeezed lime juice
1 sweet onion
extra virgin olive oil
sea salt to taste
sometimes I add garlic

I make mine in the Vita-mix

When it’s all done crock potting, I’ll remove some of the chicken and shred it (it falls apart nicely) and make enchiladas, burritos or soft tacos for dinner. Then tomorrow or the following night I’ll serve tortilla soup by adding, well, tortillas. I’ll also bake tortillas and serve them on the side of the soup and add a scoop of sour cream on top with fresh cilantro for garnish.

For soft tacos I serve with the usual … shredded cheese, lettuce, salsa, verde sauce, sliced japs, sour cream and fresh chopped cilantro.

I’ll take a photo of this concoction later …  when I actually make it. Lord knows I may become grumpy and sit and sulk instead, leaving my husband to Bojangles.

Here it is … it looks and smells so good throughout the day while it’s cooking.

IMG_0700

No Responses Yet to “tortilla soup”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

