my rancid mood and lemon broiled tempeh

17Oct09

Man, did I wake up in a nasty mood. G gets the weekends off, but his wife is so miserable, his wife is always miserable, it seems, the poor guy. When I get like this I know the only thing I can do is force myself to work, so within the hour I’m going to make myself do more gardening around the front of the house. He’s going to help me (aka do all the work) so it will be much better than my wandering around aimlessly out there while getting little to nothing accomplished.

Later, if I can get my ass off the couch, this is what I’m going to prepare to marinate overnight.

From Donnie Yance, an herbalist, nutritionist, and author.

1 twelve-ounce tempeh, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 large onion, sliced
2 medium zucchini, sliced
1 red pepper, chopped
2 freshly squeezed lemons
1 freshly squeezed orange
2 tablespoons tamari
2 tablespoons toasted sesame-seed oil
2 tablespoons untoasted sesame-seed oil
Freshly ground pepper
Crushed red-pepper flakes, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a glass baking dish, and marinate overnight.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Transfer ingredients to a shallow baking pan, and bake for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking. Finish by broiling for 5 minutes. Serve over short-grain brown rice.

No Responses Yet to “my rancid mood and lemon broiled tempeh”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

